Skip to product information
1 of 1

Sister Rosetta Tharpe

Sister Rosetta Tharpe - Live in France: The 1966 Concert in Limoges [RSD 4/20/24] (Vinyl)

Sister Rosetta Tharpe - Live in France: The 1966 Concert in Limoges [RSD 4/20/24] (Vinyl)

Regular price $80.12 CAD
Regular price Sale price $80.12 CAD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Sister Rosetta Tharpe - Live in France: The 1966 Concert in Limoges [RSD 4/20/24] (Vinyl)
(RSD Exclusive)


Releases will be available in-store over the counter om Saturday April 20th, 2024. The remaining stock being made available online from 8am (to be confirmed) on Sunday April 21, 2024.

Please note stock is very limited so place your order ASAP. Stock is not held in cart so please check out quickly. Please bear in mind that due to the nature of many people trying to place orders at the same time, we cannot guarantee that stock is yours until an Order Fullfilled/Shipped email has been sent. Unfortunately we are not able to combine orders for shipping.

Live in France: The 1966 Concert in Limoges is a previously unreleased live solo recording of "The Godmother of Rock n' Roll, " Sister Rosetta Tharpe, captured at the auditorium of the Grand Theatre in Limoges, France on November 11, 1966. This is an official release on producer Zev Feldman's new Deep Digs record label, in partnership with Elemental Music, and in cooperation with the Sister Rosetta Tharpe Estate and INA France.

Transferred from the original tape reels, this recording was restored and mastered by multi-GRAMMY award-winning engineer Michael Graves at Osiris Studio, with lacquers cut by the legendary Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering Studios. The limited-edition 180-gram 2-LP edition includes an extensive insert with rare photographs by Jan Persson, Hans Harzheim, Don Schlitten and Burt Goldblatt; two sets of liner notes by American and French Tharpe biographers - Gayle Wald (Shout, Sister, Shout!: The Untold Story of Rock-and-Roll Trailblazer Sister Rosetta Tharpe) and Jean Buzelin (Sister Rosetta Tharpe: La femme qui inventa le Rock 'n' Roll); and statements by Susan Tedeschi, Shemekia Copeland, Henry Rollins and Billy Gibbons.

1. This Train (4:33)
2. When My Life Work Is Ended (3:49)
3. Didn't It Rain (2:06)
4. My Mother's Prayer (5:35)
5. Up Above My Head, I Hear Music in the Air (2:46)
6. Moonshine (3:36)
7. I Can't Sit Down (2:42)
8. Down by the Riverside (6:24)
9. Jericho (3:02)
10. Jesus Met the Woman at the Well (4:11)
11. Two Little Fishes, Five Loaves of Bread (2:44)
12. Traveling Shoes (4:02)
13. Beams of Heaven (2:49)
14. That's All / Denomination Blues (6:05)
15. Go Ahead (4:12)
16. Bring Back Those Happy Days (2:42)
17. Give me That Old Time Religion (2:17)
18. If Anybody Above Me (1:56)
19. Nobody's Fault But Mine (4:26)

Event : Record Store Day  2024
Quantity: 1800
Release type: RSD First Release
Label: Deep Digs
Genre: Jazz
Format: 2x LP
Release Date4/20/2024
View full details
  • Free U.S. Shipping

    All doesmestic orders that are $100 and over qualify for free shipping.

  • Returns & Exchanges

    Returns are for exchange or store credit only and must be accompanied with a sales receipt. No refunds or returns for new vinyl. No cash or credit card refunds.

  • RSD Rules

    All remaining RSD invenory will be available for online prucahse at 8AM the following day. It is one copy prt title. Any order with multies copies of one title will be cancelled immediatly.